Worldwide Countries Offering The Golden Visa Scheme

As of September 25, 2023, the following countries offer a Golden Visa scheme:


  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • Dubai
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu

What is a Golden Visa?

A Golden Visa is a residency-by-investment program that allows non-EU nationals to obtain a residency permit in a country by making a significant investment. The specific investment requirements vary from country to country, but they typically involve purchasing real estate, investing in government bonds, or starting a business.

Benefits of a Golden Visa

There are a number of benefits to obtaining a Golden Visa, including:

  • Free movement within the Schengen Area: The Schengen Area is a group of 26 European countries that have abolished passport controls at their common borders. This means that Golden Visa holders can travel freely between these countries without having to go through passport control.
  • The right to live and work in the country: Golden Visa holders have the right to live and work in the country for the duration of their residency permit. They can also apply for citizenship after a certain period of time.
  • The right to bring family members to the country: Golden Visa holders can bring their spouse and children to the country to live with them.
  • No minimum stay requirement: Golden Visa holders are not required to spend a minimum amount of time in the country each year. This means that they can use their visa to visit the country regularly, or they can live in the country full-time.

Requirements for a Golden Visa

The specific requirements for a Golden Visa vary from country to country, but they typically include the following:

  • You must be a non-EU national.
  • You must have a clean criminal record.
  • You must have sufficient financial means to support yourself and your family in the country.
  • You must make one of the following investments in the country:
    • Purchase of real estate
    • Investment in government bonds
    • Investment in a business

Application process for a Golden Visa

The application process for a Golden Visa also varies from country to country, but it typically involves the following steps:

  1. Submit an application form.
  2. Pay an application fee.
  3. Provide proof of identity, residency, and financial means.
  4. Provide proof of investment in the country.
  5. Undergo a medical examination and security check.

Renewal of a Golden Visa

The Golden Visa is typically valid for two years, and it can be renewed for an additional two years each time, provided that you continue to meet the eligibility requirements.

After a certain period of time, you may be eligible to apply for citizenship in the country.

Countries with the most popular Golden Visa schemes

The most popular Golden Visa schemes in the world are those offered by Portugal, Spain, and Greece. These countries offer a number of advantages, such as relatively low investment requirements, fast processing times, and the opportunity to obtain citizenship after a relatively short period of time.


The Golden Visa scheme is a great way for non-EU nationals to obtain residency in a country and enjoy the benefits that come with it, such as free movement within the Schengen Area, the right to live and work in the country, and the right to bring family members to the country.

If you are interested in applying for a Golden Visa, you should consult with an experienced immigration lawyer to learn more about the specific requirements of the country you are interested in.

Compare listings

Translate »